Elder Abuse Awareness Month

Every year, an estimated 5,000,000 elders are subjected to abuse. That’s one in every ten elders over the age of 60. June has been designated as national Elder Abuse Awareness month. Elder Abuse is defined as “any knowing, intentional, or negligent act by a caregiver or any other person that causes harm or serious risk of harm to a vulnerable adult.”

There are 6 defined types of abuse:

  • Physical
  • Emotional
  • Sexual
  • Financial
  • Neglect
  • Abandonment

60% of all perpetrators are family members, with every 2/3 being  adult children or spouses.

If you or someone you know is a victim of elder abuse, you are asked to call Cuyahoga County’s Adult Protective Services at 216-420-6700 or report it online at dsas.cuyahogacounty.us/adultscreening

If you’re interested in learning more about the signs of elder abuse, or have any questions, call the Cleveland Department of Aging at  216-664-2833

, , ,